MitsuStyle

MitsuStyle (http://www.mitsustyle.com/forums/index.php)
-   Auto Insurance (http://www.mitsustyle.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=74)
-   -   illegaly parked car backed into (http://www.mitsustyle.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17014)

kennydawgg 09-20-2007 05:48 PM

illegaly parked car backed into

so I was at work and I stopped my car perpendicular to the others parked in the stalls. I ran inside to talk to my boss and in the mean time a prick in an escalade backed into me. he hit my right front headlight with his rear right bumper. my bumper( a fiberglass body kit one) was destroyed and my headlight was broken. his bumper has a black mark on it.

he says its my fault because I was illegally parked, but I say its his because he hit a stationary object. I found many sites on the net that say its 100% his fault but his insurance company says that they will notify my insurance company and possible a claim will be made against me. As a young driver I have a spotless record and I am in preferred insurance. if i loose that status my insurance goes up 100 dollars a month without any points.

I just wanted to get some input to determine if it is worth taking the risk of a possibility of it going on my record.

any thoughts.

thanks
kenny

Matt D. 09-20-2007 06:16 PM

Re: illegaly parked car backed into

I've seen this come up a few times before, you are not at fault, though with Minnesota insurance laws you are at fault for being in the accident to begin with. :)

Hoffer00 09-20-2007 07:03 PM

You will get a parking ticket, but they are at fault, because of the last chance law. They had the last chance to avoid the accident.

Matt D. 09-20-2007 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hoffer00 (Post 209418)
You will get a parking ticket

How? It's private property and not a handicap zone.

Hoffer00 09-20-2007 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kennydawgg (Post 209402)
so I was at work and I stopped my car perpendicular to the others parked in the stalls.